Geegees Blackflash Wins 2015 Hobart Cup

February 10th, 2015

Charged with overcoming a race-high 59kgs, talented veteran Geegees Blackflash has attacked the line late to secure a second victory in the featured Group 3 Hobart Cup (2400m) on Monday.

Jumping from the gates only fairly, Geegees Blackflash was forced to settle at the tail of the field of 12; allowing the early leaders to set a quick tempo away from the barriers and approaching the bend.

Rounding onto the final straight with plenty to do, jockey Sigrid Carr pressed the Clangalang gelding forward, who responded with producing a scintillating turn of foot to swallow up the field and hit the line a head in front of Genuine Lad; Banca Mo boxing on for third.

Trainer John Luttrell was on hand to witness Geegees Blackflash’s victory in the 2015 Hobart Cup and was understandably thrilled with the performance and subsequent result.

“What he did today was unbelievable to come from last and beat those horses,” Luttrell said.

“He’s all guts. He just needed a bit of a luck and he just kept coming.

“What a horse. He’s a champion, isn’t he.”

Finishing a disappointing eleventh in his first Hobart Cup appearance in 2011, Geegees Blackflash never appeared in doubt when taking out the 2012 edition; running on late to finish third in the 2013 Cup before placing a close second to Epingle in the 2014 Hobart feature.

Taking out the Launceston Open (1400m) on December 17th, the gelding out of La Quita placed a credible third in the Listed Tasmanian Stakes (1600m) on December 31st; progressing to second in the Brighton Cup (2100m) and returning to the winner’s circle in the Summer Cup (2200m) in his only other start prior to Monday’s success.

All in all, Geegees Blackflash has now won an impressive 23 of his 64 competitive appearances at the races to date, in a career which has also included 25 finishes in the minor places.

Punters who backed Geegees Blackflash to win the 2015 Hobart Cup at were paid out on generous $9 odds!

2015 Hobart Cup Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 1 GEEGEES BLACKFLASH John Luttrell Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 3 59kg $8.70
2 7 GENUINE LAD Bill Ryan Anthony Darmanin 0.2L 11 54kg $6.70
3 3 BANCA MO Scott Brunton David Pires 3.7L 2 56.5kg $4.60
4 8 OLLIE’S GOLD Gary White Dean Yendall 8.2L 1 54kg $12.20
5 2 PELICANO Tony McEvoy Matthew Neilson 9L 5 58kg $4.90
6 11 FALAMONTE (NZ) Robbie Laing Jake Bayliss (a) 11.5L 4 54kg $33.60
7 4 IGGIMACOOL Bill Ryan Brendon McCoull 12.5L 12 54.5kg (cd 55kg) $19.50
8 5 GARUD (IRE) Michael Moroney Craig Williams 15.8L 10 54kg $3.60F
9 6 JAKCORIJIM Glenn Stevenson Jamie R Bayliss 22.6L 6 54kg $50
10 13 HOLD TRUE John Luttrell Troy Baker 29.9L 7 54kg $100.50
11 10 PLAYER ONE Max Cowen Jordan Childs (a) 34.2L 8 54kg $66.10
12 9 ANOTHER LAD AL Rodney Seymour Bulent Muhcu (a) 35.5L 9 54kg $79.70