2014 Hobart Cup Final Field Released

February 11th, 2014

The 2014 Group 3 Hobart Cup will feature just 11 competitors after Peter Moody-trained gelding Macedonian was an early scratching from the final field ahead of Friday’s rescheduled running.

First Bloom will be aiming to secure Darren Weir his second straight Hobart Cup

First Bloom will be aiming to secure Darren Weir his second straight Hobart Cup. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia

Initially rostered to take place on Sunday, February 9th, a wild storm forced the majority of events at Hobart’s Elwick Racecourse to be abandoned and will now be featured as a twilight event on Friday.

Highly-rated hopeful Geegees Blackflash has built a career on the tracks of Tasmania and most famously landed a resounding victory in the Hobart Cup’s 2012 edition.

Having placed third in 2013, the Clangalang gelding has found good form recently, scoring back-to-back wins in the RW Trinder Quality (1600m) and Betfair Summer Cup (2100m), however will have to overcome the top weight of 60kgs as well as the wide barrier if he is to add another Hobart crown to his current list of 17 wins.

Also included in the final field for the 2014 Hobart Cup is Epingle.

Trained by Michael Kent in Victoria, Epingle has been particularly consistent since beginning her spring campaign in October, building off a disappointing 15th in the Group 2 Blazer Stakes (1410m) to place fourth in the Group 3 Eliza Park International Stakes (1600m), fourth in the Group 2 Momentum Energy Stakes (2000m) and a close second in the Group 2 Zipping Classic (2400m) in November.

Carrying a race-average 54kgs, the chances of the Pins mare have been drastically increased by a good barrier draw (gate 3) and partner; Craig Williams.

After claiming the 2013 Hobart Cup with Hurdy Gurdy Man, leading trainer Darren Weir will be resting his hopes of back-to-back wins in the event on sole-entrant First Bloom.

First Bloom has found good form since beginning her current preparation in late November, claiming two wins and a minor in only five starts including a strong victory in the Aquanas Fillies and Mares Handicap (2040m) most recently.

Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best odds on all Group level events this weekend, including the 2014 Hobart Cup.

Sign up and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to claim a free bet up to the value of $250!

2014 Hobart Cup Final Field

# Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 112×243211 GEEGEES BLACKFLASH John Luttrell Stephen Maskiell 12 60kg 107
2 0530×36222 THE CLEANER Mick Burles Anthony Darmanin 5 56.5kg 100
3 1414×08434 UNCHAIN MY HEART David Hayes Tim Clark (late alt) 4 54kg 97
4 242×044263 EPINGLE (NZ) Michael Kent Craig Williams 3 54kg 96
5 31112×8867 SURPASS (NZ) Michael Moroney Jake Noonan (late alt) 9 54kg 90
6 3595113×89 MACEDONIAN (NZ) Peter G Moody Ms Katelyn Mallyon (a), (late alt) 10 54kg 89
7 45×6531521 GEE GEE’S LA QUITA Stuart Gandy David Pires 8 54kg 86
8 44×3415303 RELENTLESS PURSUIT Julie Richards Jason Lyon (late alt) 2 54kg 83
9 x824114252 MAGNAPAL Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Ms Nikita Beriman 1 54kg 80
10 2676×14021 FIRST BLOOM Darren Weir Ms Michelle Payne 11 54kg 78
11 6157469167 CAN GET THIRSTY (NZ) John Luttrell Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 7 54kg 75
12 624×126512 ALLEGRO DEHERE Dean Wells (late alt) 6 54kg 73