2010 Hobart Cup Nominations

January 29th, 2010

The feature event on Tasmania’s annual racing calendar is fast approaching with the 2010 Hobart Cup taking place on the 8th of February at Tattersall’s Park.

As feature race on the AAMI Hobart Cup Day, the Group 3 open handicap over 2,200m, forms part of the highly anticipated Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival.

There are 30 nominations for the $400,000 race with five-year-old Davcon drawing attention in the lead-up to the 2010 Hobart Cup, having four wins to his name.

Another horse to watch is Bangerang Quikpic, trained by Darren Weir, who is entering the race with some recent good runs under his belt.

Victorian trainer Peter Moody has three nominees in Fairygem, Flying Monty and Testa Jesta, while fellow elite trainer Gai Waterhouse has two representatives in Music Maestro and Rabbuka.

Other feature races on the day are the Wrest Point Strutt Stakes ($80,000) and Tatt’s Group Thomas Lyons Stakes ($80,000).

The barrier draw for the 2010 Hobart Cup will take place on the 3rd of February.

2010 Hobart Cup Nominations

No. Horse Trainer
1 Assent David and Scott Brunton
2 Ballck Danny O’Brien
3 Bangerang Quikpic Darren Weir
4 Beven Heights George Blacker
5 Bolle Barbara Marshman
6 Boom ‘N’ Zoom Ken Keys
7 Bundoran Breeze Julie Richards
8 Davcon Heath Conners
9 De Fine Lago Tony Vasil
10 Dream Pedlar Troy Blacker
11 Fairygem Peter G Moody
12 Flying Monty Peter G Moody
13 Grand Destiny Michael Kent
14 Growl David Hayes
15 Ista Kareem Colin Little
16 Larry’s Never Late Rodney Douglas
17 Maybe French Mark Everett
18 Montahlia Michael Kent
19 Mr Isaac Gary White
20 Music Maestro Gai Waterhouse
21 My Bentley Michael Kent
22 Old Jock Mick Price
23 Olympic Win Leon Corstens
24 Playwright Steve Richards
25 Rabbuka Gai Waterhouse
26 Rathsallagh Robert Smerdon
27 Syndrome Michael Moroney
28 Testa Jesta Peter G Moody
29 The Tiger Colin and Cindy Alderson
30 Zavite Anthony Cummings